top of page
  • Writer's pictureDarby VanDeVeen

Jonas Brothers Release Two New Singles



The Jonas Brothers are back and better than ever. After announcing their reunion in February of 2019, they’ve released a new album and embarked on a sold out arena tour. On Friday, May 15, the brothers announced that they were releasing two new singles - “X” and “Five More Minutes.” “X” features Colombian singer KAROL G.


I’ve been a fan since I was eight years old, listening to “S.O.S” like it was my job. Right off the bat, I was excited to listen to Five More Minutes, since it reminded me of their song “6 Minutes” from their first studio album. The song was nothing like I expected it to be, but I liked it all the same. Opening with Nick Jonas singing “Give me five more minutes” I was prepared to give them the next five days of my life listening to the song. There’s something about the simple beat in the back that sticks in your head.


The song itself is simple, putting the focus on the vocals and the lyrics - which plead the subject of the song to spend just five more minutes with the singer, even if it would make them late. It’s a sweet song, and made extra sweet given the fact that all three brothers are married.


“X” has a sound that’s infectious. With Latin influences, this song is made for dancing. When I listened to this song, I was dancing around my room, tapping my toes, you name it. It’s a bop with a catchy tune that sticks in your head long after you listen to it. KAROL G has averse all in Spanish to create a perfect blend between pop and Latin music. Flirty lyrics like “kiss me like your ex is in the room-oom-oom” tie the track together, making it a good contender for song of the summer.


The contrast between these two songs is clear to see, but both fit the band overall. The contrast between straight up bangers and more tender love songs has always been the type of music the Jonas Brothers excelled at producing. The Jonas Brothers are working on a new album that is set to be released sometime in 2020.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page