top of page
Writer's pictureDarby VanDeVeen

Noah Cyrus Delivers Raw EP



On Friday, May 15, Noah Cyrus released her second EP, “THE END OF EVERYTHING”. Cyrus gave us a raw performance over the eight tracks. To Apple Music, she described her music as “like being in a car when I see a beautiful sunset...the music I listen to whenever I need to connect with my soul.”


I’ll admit I don’t know all that much about Noah Cyrus, aside for her being the sister of Miley Cyrus. I heard that she was releasing an EP, so I wanted to check it out. While I was expecting more traditional pop sounds, like catchy rhythms and melodies, all eight tracks had an acoustic vibe.


Whether relying on a piano or a guitar, the subdued music really let Cyrus’ vocals and lyricism shine. Two songs that really stood out for me were “Lonely” and “Young and Sad.”

Lonely” was built around the subject of Cyrus’ depression and how lonely she can feel at times. Her lyrics are raw and real, with lines like “I’m trying so hard at the back of the shelf” and “So I try way too hard but I still miss the mark to fit in.” You can hear the desperation in Cyrus’ voice when she sings “help me” at the beginning of the chorus. A song like that can easily bring someone to tears - and that’s exactly what it did to me.


Young and Sad” is also about mental health, but has an upbeat vibe. Opening with a voicemail from her father, Billy Ray Cyrus, we immediately get a smile on our face as he tells Cyrus that everything will be okay. What really stood out to me was the second verse, where comparisons are made between the Cyrus sisters. Noah Cyrus writes that her “sister’s like sunshine” while she was “born to rainclouds.” Growing up in your sister’s shadow can be hard, and probably even harder when that sister is Miley Cyrus herself. By claiming that she doesn't want to be young and sad anymore, the desire to find herself and to feel better in general is expressed with a hint of a country twang.


Between her honest lyrics and mellow music, I predict that Cyrus is going to be very successful in her career. A blend between country, alternative and pop, Cyrus has found her signature sound and is ready to be unapologetically herself.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page